Lessons Learned

Through the years of doing our Service of Remembrance I have learned many lessons.  Here are a few:

  1.  Even if it look like the candles fit perfectly in the holders use the little wax dots for security.  One year I forgot those and the candles started to lean!  We were afraid the church might burn down.
  2. If you want people to join in singing, have the words to the song printed somewhere.  Back in 2005, I forgot to print the words to the “Light a Candle” on the program.  When it came time for everyone to sing no one had the words!  That year it was just a soloist and me singing and I can’t carry a tune in a bucket. I make sure the words are always there.
  3. It doesn’t have to be perfect!  I strive for perfection.  I want everything a certain way or at least I used to be that way.  For many years I had to have everything coordinated-the candles, the flowers, the dishes, even what we wore.  This year I am being frugal and using an assortment of leftovers.  I didn’t even buy a new outfit!  Do you think anyone will notice?

It is a special day.  You would think that after 17 years it would be easier.  In some ways it is. Yet it is always emotional.  I am still overwhelmed seeing the faces of the families we have served.  I am always touched that they have taken time to come. I am often surprised by who comes and who doesn’t.  I wish more would come.  A couple of years into this tradition my husband said, “If only one family comes and it is meaningful to them, we will have the service.”  I hope we can continue to do so until we are one of the candles lighted.

 

And I will light a candle for you,

shatter all the darkness

and bless the times we knew.

Like a beacon in the night

the flame will burn bright

and guide us on our way.

Oh today I light a candle for you.

    

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons Learned

  1. Those who have died were and are flames full of memories to be cherished still. You exercise their continuance. In that there is only good.

Leave a Reply

