More Comfortable

For many years I have defined myself by my work.  When someone dies we as human beings are vulnerable; we need help and guidance.  I love being able to do that. 

Most people don’t realize that funeral directors in a small town are on call 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year.  Death doesn’t happen on a schedule or on an eight hour shift.  We must go when we are called. We drop what we are doing, we leave the party, get up from the movie, wake up in the middle of the night, it doesn’t matter what– we go.  Yes, we complain to ourselves or our partner, but by the time we reach a family we are filled with the compassion that makes us who we are. They are comforted knowing that we will care for the person that they love with dignity and respect and often love, since we know many of those whom we are called for.

This blog writing is new to me. I mainly write obituaries.  I have never even kept a journal.  Somehow this is part of my path.  As time goes on, I will share my story with you-how my calling as a death care provider was definitely pre-destined, some of my experiences through the years and where life will keep taking me.

Death is an uncomfortable subject for most people.  For me, it is a big part of my life.  Perhaps, by sharing my thoughts and experiences I can help others be more comfortable, too.Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

